top of page

How to Wake Up Feeling Productive

Updated: Feb 2, 2023

I think a lot of us like the idea of waking up, going for a run, making a healthy breakfast, and getting to work. But actually starting the habit is the hardest part. Once you get into the habit, it is the easiest thing ever. But...

I also love the feeling of sleeping in and scrolling through my phone. I could sit in my bed for hours. Then by the time I roll out of bed I feel lazy and unmotivated. I always thing: if I would have gotten up just an hour earlier, I could have felt refreshed and motivated, ready to start a productive day. But here I am, still in bed, still doing the same boring thing I do every single day.


In case you struggle with motivation like me, I compiled my top ten tips that I am using to wake up with a more productive mindset. (I put them in no particular order so you can reorder or add your own).


(I compiled all of my favorite tips from my pins saved on my lifestyle board). Don't forget: if you do sleep in, it's never too late in the day to get up and get your day started off right!!


1. Ditch the phone

Waking up to check what everyone else is up to or wants from you is exhausting and not very motivating. It is also so easy to get stuck on your phone in your comfortable bed. When you wake up, tell yourself to wait until you have accomplished certain tasks before you can check your phone. You will feel refreshed. When I get out of bed without checking my phone or trying to get a few extra minutes of sleep, I feel so much more accomplished without even doing anything.


2. Open your curtains

This simple task of opening the curtains or blinds takes a couple seconds and makes you feel like you have already done something for the day. It is a great way to start off feeling refreshed and ready to tackle the day.


3. Make your bed

Just like opening your curtains or blinds, making your bed is a pretty easy task. Even though you are going to sleep in the bed that night, making your bed starts off the day with accomplishment and keeps your space clean and tidy.


4. Hydrate

Try this: When you wake up, sit up right away and drink at least __oz of water (set the goal yourself!) This will leave you feeling refreshed and energized for the morning. Don't forget to set out a water bottle on your side table before you go to bed the night before!


5. Tidy your room

It could be as simple as cleaning up a vanity, packing your bag for the day, or even wiping down surfaces. Start off with small, achievable tasks in the morning like "pick up 5 items". Before you even leave your room in the morning, the space should feel clean and ready for use. Having a clean space stimulates a more motivated state of mind. It is a good idea to apply the basic rule of having no more than three items on each surface at a time (unless working on a project).



6. Use a planner

Having a plan to stick definitely helps keep me focused and leaves little room for distractions. I have a cute planner I use to plan my tasks for everyday (I don't like calling them chores). This makes planning my day fun and efficient. For an online routine planner, my favorite apps are Habit Tracker and Routinery (unsponsored). Here are some of my tips on making your scheduling system more effective:

  • fill in your planner / goals at the beginning of the week

  • fill in your planner every night before bed with your goals and intentions for the next day

  • in the morning, fill in any more tasks you think you will have to do

  • make sure you leave yourself plenty of free time to relax and unwind

  • write things in order of importance or when you want them completed


7. Exercise

Exercise is probably the most rewarding morning task I do. Just getting dressed into a workout set and getting your blood moving are accomplishments by themselves. Exercising, in any form, keeps your brain sharp. This leads to a more productive day. Start a workout plan by using a planner so your entire body gets movement every week. Remember to give yourself breaks throughout the week.



8. Have a shower / skincare routine

Taking care of yourself at the beginning of the day is so important in feeling refreshed and ready. When you wake up in the morning, set a detailed shower and skincare routine that you can enjoy at least a few times a week. Even if skincare just involved a quick lotion or a hair treatment, it is important to keep your hair and skin clean - and healthy.


9. Have a breakfast meal plan

In order to keep breakfast fun, I like to have a 5-day breakfast plan. I usually don't follow the list in order, and some weeks I will skip a certain breakfast and try a different one. It is important to have a list of meals you like to add variety but structure to your breakfast plan. Some of my favorite easy breakfast ideas are:

  • yoghurt parfait (yoghurt, honey, fruit, granola, etc.)

  • egg omelette (cheese, baby tomatoes, sautéed bell peppers, herbs, etc.)

  • avocado rice cake w/ fried eggs

  • oats / other hot grain cereals (honey, apple, shredded coconut, nutmeg, cinnamon, berries, etc.)

  • waffles / pancakes (whipped cream, berries, 100% cacao)


10. Take care of something else

I am guilty of not doing this enough. If you make someone else's day amazing, it is so much easier to make yours amazing. If you have a roommate or live with your parents, try to:

  • make them the same breakfast you are having

  • help prepare lunch

  • help tidy their room

  • say good morning (if you're lazy like me)

If you live by yourself, try to:

  • tidy up your place

  • feed a pet

  • water a plant

  • call or send a text to someone

I also want to add that if you did sleep in, it's never too late to start your day. If you have to start your routine at 11am or even after noon, just stick to the basics of your routine and don't worry about it. You can set your alarm and start tomorrow. And remember, your morning routine should be something that you are excited to do in the morning! The routine should mix in chores with more enticing activities, like exercise, self care, and other activities you may enjoy. You can gradually lengthen your routine to mix in more fun activities once you have an established routine. Remember, just start the routine and don't wait for motivation. The little things you decide to do every add up and become your life!


Hope you have a great day :)



 

168 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page